The Official Website

Conference Program 2018

 St. George Tucker Society Meeting

July 26-28, 2018

Jackson Marriott Downtown

Jackson, Mississippi


Thursday Evening, July 26th

Opening Keynote:  6:00-7:00 pm, Mississippi Civil Rights Museum, 222 North St #2205, Jackson, MS 39201

Reception with drinks and heavy hor d’oeuvres

7:00-8:30 pm, Speaker: Charles Reagan Wilson, University of Mississippi



Friday, July 27th

Session I, 9:15-10:45 am, The Native South

Chair:  James Hill (Mississippi State University)

Robbie Etheridge (University of Mississippi)

Joshua Haynes (University of Southern Mississippi)

Jace Weaver (University of Georgia)


Break: 10:45-11:15 am


Session II, 11:15-12:45 pm, Nineteenth-Century Southern Intellectual History

Chair: Doug Ambrose (Hamilton College)

Tim Minella (Villanova University)

Bob Elder (Valparaiso University)

Anna Koivusalo (University of Helsinki)


Lunch, 12:45-2:15 pm (on your own)


Cleanth Brooks Dissertation Forum, 2:15-3:45


Chair:  Jay Richardson (William Carey University)

DeWayne Moore

Ph.D. (May 2018) from the Department of History, University of Mississippi

“The Radical Psychology of Worth Westinghouse Long Jr. in Black Folklife and The Land Where the Blues Began.”

Joshua Shiver

Ph.D. Candidate in the Department of History, Auburn University

“To Clap Hands with You Again: How Romance Sustained the Civil War Soldier”

Paula Rawlins

Ph.D. Candidate in the Department of English, University of Georgia

“Singing to Survive: The Therapeutics of Music in Dorothy Allison’s Bastard Out of Carolina and Ellen Douglas’s Can’t Quit You, Baby”

Business Meeting, 4:00-4:45 pm


Dinner:  6:30 pm, Lou’s Full-Serv, 904B Fortification St., Jackson, MS (Dinner included in conference fee. Cash bar.)



Saturday, July 28th

Session III: 9:15-10:45 Roundtable: Ethan Kytle and Blain Roberts, (Cal State-Fresno):  Denmark Vesey’s Garden:  Slavery and Memory in the Cradle of the Confederacy

Otis Pickett (Mississippi College)

Bernard Powers (The College of Charleston)

Mary McNiall Mitchell (University of New Orleans)


Break: 10:45-11:15


Melvin E. Bradford Dissertation Prize, 11:15-12:15 pm


Anna Koivusalo, “The Man Who Started the Civil War:  Southern Honor, Emotion, and James Chestnut, Jr.”

University of Helsinki, 2017


Lunch, 12:15-1:30 pm (on your own)


Session IV: 1:30-3:00 pm, Post-Civil Rights Roundtable

Chair:  Patrick Connelly (Mississippi College)

Greta de Jong (University of Nevada-Reno)

Julian Hayter (University of Richmond)

John Spann (Two Mississippi Museums, Civil Rights Museum)

Stuart Rockoff (Mississippi Humanities Council, Director)


Break: 3:00-3:30 pm


Concluding Keynote: 3:30-4:30 pm


Ralph Eubanks, Visiting Professor of English and Southern Studies, University of Mississippi

Registration for the 2018 Annual Meeting is live!